Department of Physics
पदार्थविज्ञान विभाग


The Department of Physics was established as a Major Department in the year 1966 for the B.Sc. Physics, B. Sc. Electronics (1981) Degree level and upgraded to M. Sc. Physics with Electronics specialization (1971) and M. Sc. Industrial Automation (2010) as grant aided courses affiliated to Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad. The Department being one of the oldest Departments from Marathwada region and has a strong lineages related to science education in this region. PG Department is offering a Choice Based Credit and Grading System course from June 2015 and it was revised every five years by members of University Board of Studies.
The Electronics specialization has been designed to allow students to not only prepare for theory and experiment but to create interest in research in specialization subjects. It also equipped them to pursue a career in the industry by exposing them to micro-controllers and PLC embedded technologies. The laboratory is constantly updated to allow students to remain competitive in the development of related skills through innovative projects.
The Department has 12 inches automated Observatory Setup for night solar observations by the initiative of faculty members in coloration with IUCAA, Pune.  Apart from this we also serving a standard laboratory facility for research students, telescope routinely used for night sky observing programs for the students from rural schools as a Avishkar innovative projects and Chhote Scientists Schemes.
The faculty members are active both in teaching as well as research.  The Dept. has its own recognized Research Centre which avail research facilities to research students in subject of Solid state Physics, Material Science, Microwaves, Astrophysics and Nuclear Physics. These facilities are also utilized by students from other Colleges. At present twenty one students are working towards their Ph.D. degree under the supervision of the faculty members. Department organizes Seminars, Guest lectures, Educational tours, inter-collegiate competitions and motivates the students to take up the research activities.

The Department strives to prepare the students for higher educational and career challenges by fostering scientific temper and human values by adopting…

To form a strong base of Physics with the fundamental concepts, laws and theory,

To build the knowledge of the current developments and trends in Physics.

To create an aptitude for research in the minds and to introduce the basic requirements for to prepare for competitive examinations research.

 To explore their capabilities, to develop intellectual and human potential.

The Department is dedicated to imparting the students with deep commitment to the pursuit of knowledge and understanding in the Physical Sciences through promoting a spirit of open- ended intellectual curiosity. We encourage our students to be innovative and adaptable to new developments in science and technology through an emphasis on quality in teaching, learning and research.

Ex Heads

Sr. No/ Name of the Staff Designation
1 Prof.  K.D. Gadiya 1967-1970
2 Dr. S.K. Desai 1970-1975
3 Prof. K.R. Patil 1975-1996
4 Dr. L.D. Nehete 1996-2001
5 Prof. S. J. Lahoti 2001-2010
6 Dr. S. V. Sonar (Electronics) 2010-2018
7 Dr. S. K. Popalghat 2010-2018
8 Prof. S. B. Bajaj 2018 to till date
9 Prof. S. B. Deshmukh (Electronics) 2018 to till date